<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Viacom Wants Jackass.com Domain Name, But Future Media Architects Won&#8217;t Give It To Them</title>
	<atom:link href="http://pulse2.com/2009/02/18/viacom-wants-jackasscom-domain-name-but-future-media-architects-wont-give-it-to-them/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://pulse2.com/2009/02/18/viacom-wants-jackasscom-domain-name-but-future-media-architects-wont-give-it-to-them/</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 21 Nov 2009 10:47:10 -0600</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.5</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: Amit Chowdhry</title>
		<link>http://pulse2.com/2009/02/18/viacom-wants-jackasscom-domain-name-but-future-media-architects-wont-give-it-to-them/comment-page-1/#comment-24974</link>
		<dc:creator>Amit Chowdhry</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 19 Feb 2009 03:18:15 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://pulse2.com/?p=10666#comment-24974</guid>
		<description>I&#039;ma agreeing with a point that Ars Technica made here:

&quot;The WIPO arbiter said that the company&#039;s explanations about the donkey websites were basically ridiculous and not the whole story; the idea that someone with 100,000 websites is suddenly going to turn jackass.com into a REALLY USEFUL SITE about donkeys after being hauled before WIPO borders on the ludicrous.&quot;

http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/news/2009/02/wipo-jackasscom-an-owner-a-real-jackass-but-can-keep-site.ars#comments

In this case it seems like FMA is typosquatter. When someone &quot;registers variants of popular trademarked names, a practice known as typosquatting.&quot;

It could be purely a coincidence, but I&#039;m formed my opinion based on what I&#039;ve read from another article.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ma agreeing with a point that Ars Technica made here:</p>
<p>&#8220;The WIPO arbiter said that the company&#8217;s explanations about the donkey websites were basically ridiculous and not the whole story; the idea that someone with 100,000 websites is suddenly going to turn jackass.com into a REALLY USEFUL SITE about donkeys after being hauled before WIPO borders on the ludicrous.&#8221;</p>
<p><a href="http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/news/2009/02/wipo-jackasscom-an-owner-a-real-jackass-but-can-keep-site.ars#comments" rel="nofollow">http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/news/2009/02/wipo-jackasscom-an-owner-a-real-jackass-but-can-keep-site.ars#comments</a></p>
<p>In this case it seems like FMA is typosquatter. When someone &#8220;registers variants of popular trademarked names, a practice known as typosquatting.&#8221;</p>
<p>It could be purely a coincidence, but I&#8217;m formed my opinion based on what I&#8217;ve read from another article.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Mat</title>
		<link>http://pulse2.com/2009/02/18/viacom-wants-jackasscom-domain-name-but-future-media-architects-wont-give-it-to-them/comment-page-1/#comment-24973</link>
		<dc:creator>Mat</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 19 Feb 2009 02:42:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://pulse2.com/?p=10666#comment-24973</guid>
		<description>&quot;Future Media Architects is known as a cyber-squatter, a company that buys domain names and doesn’t put any content on it… only advertisements.&quot;

How did you conclude that FMA is a cybersquatter? And let me correct your definition of cybersquatting; according to wikipedia:

&quot;Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price.&quot;

Please note that FMA owns the domain name AND its trademark, that and FMA has never sold any domain name. So basically, FMA doesn&#039;t satisfy neither of the two conditions of a cybersquatter. Please understand the definitions before you use them and accuse FMA of cybersquatting.

FMA won this case for two reasons: 1) It owns the &#039;Jackass&#039; trademark and that gives it rights to the domain name as much as Viacom. FMA claimed the domain first and that&#039;s Viacom&#039;s problem, if they thought the domain name should belong to them why didn&#039;t they register it 9 years ago? 2) &#039;Jackass&#039; is a generic dictionary-word and that alone is enough to deny any claims to own the domain name.

FMA&#039;s business is clean and is not against the law in anyway, and none of its domain names would classify the company as a cybersquatter. Again, please do not accuse a company of such an illegal action when you clearly lack the correct definition of it.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>&#8220;Future Media Architects is known as a cyber-squatter, a company that buys domain names and doesn’t put any content on it… only advertisements.&#8221;</p>
<p>How did you conclude that FMA is a cybersquatter? And let me correct your definition of cybersquatting; according to wikipedia:</p>
<p>&#8220;Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price.&#8221;</p>
<p>Please note that FMA owns the domain name AND its trademark, that and FMA has never sold any domain name. So basically, FMA doesn&#8217;t satisfy neither of the two conditions of a cybersquatter. Please understand the definitions before you use them and accuse FMA of cybersquatting.</p>
<p>FMA won this case for two reasons: 1) It owns the &#8216;Jackass&#8217; trademark and that gives it rights to the domain name as much as Viacom. FMA claimed the domain first and that&#8217;s Viacom&#8217;s problem, if they thought the domain name should belong to them why didn&#8217;t they register it 9 years ago? 2) &#8216;Jackass&#8217; is a generic dictionary-word and that alone is enough to deny any claims to own the domain name.</p>
<p>FMA&#8217;s business is clean and is not against the law in anyway, and none of its domain names would classify the company as a cybersquatter. Again, please do not accuse a company of such an illegal action when you clearly lack the correct definition of it.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: ES</title>
		<link>http://pulse2.com/2009/02/18/viacom-wants-jackasscom-domain-name-but-future-media-architects-wont-give-it-to-them/comment-page-1/#comment-24972</link>
		<dc:creator>ES</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 19 Feb 2009 02:19:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://pulse2.com/?p=10666#comment-24972</guid>
		<description>&quot;The World Intellectual Property Organization concluded knew that the FMA was full of it but decided that they cannot hand Jackass.com over to Viacom.&quot;

Oh really?  Where is that noted, or is that your analysis?

Also, it sounds like you don&#039;t know the definition of a cybersquatter.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>&#8220;The World Intellectual Property Organization concluded knew that the FMA was full of it but decided that they cannot hand Jackass.com over to Viacom.&#8221;</p>
<p>Oh really?  Where is that noted, or is that your analysis?</p>
<p>Also, it sounds like you don&#8217;t know the definition of a cybersquatter.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
