Louisiana State Law To Require Sex Offenders To Let People Know In Facebook Profiles
There is a new law being passed in the state of Louisiana that will require sex offenders to inform people that they are child predators in their Facebook profiles. Facebook has removed the profiles of sex offenders for a while, but Louisiana state representative Jeff Thompson said that he does not want to leave it up to the administrators of the social network. This new law will go into effect on August 1st and will expand the sex-offender registration requirements in the state according to SlashGear.
Louisiana is not the only state to have restrictions on sex offenders that use social networks. Illinois and Texas bans sex offenders from using social networks.
The Louisiana law states that convicted offenders “shall include in his profile for the networking website an indication that he is a sex offender or child predator and shall include notice of the crime for which he was convicted, the jurisdiction of conviction, a description of his physical characteristics… and his residential address.”
Offenders that violate the law could potentially face return to prison with hard labor for between 2 and 10 years without parole and a second conviction bringing a prison term of between 5 and 20 years without parole.This article was written by Amit Chowdhry. You can follow me at @amitchowdhry or on Google+ at +AmitChowdhry