Confirmed: Facebook Now Has Automatic Photo Sync Feature On Android and iOS

Today Facebook has confirmed that they are rolling out an automatic photo syncing feature that we wrote about earlier this month.  If you turn it on, up to 2GB of photos from your phone can be synced automatically to a private album on Facebook.  You can pick and choose your favorites to share with your favorites from that album.  Facebook is not launching new Android and iOS apps to roll out the feature.  The company simply is turning it on for more and more users with a large push starting from today.

We wrote about how Facebook was testing the feature on Android back in September.  The feature is similar to the way that the Google+ Android app pushes photos to Google Photos for storage.  If you want to turn on the feature in the Facebook app, tap on Photos and then tap on Sync at the bottom of the photos section.  As the uploads start coming in, you can take a look at them and share them.  When you visit your Timeline, you will notice a section that says “Sync from Phone” at the top of the photos section.

In order to save on the limited amount of space, you can stop photos from being synced by deleting them.  In the app, you can select the “Remove synced phot” option once you pick a photo in the Synced section.  Deleting a photo from the synced photos section will now delete it from your phone gallery.

We generally try to sync your photos as soon as you take them. However, we also take into account a number of factors, such as your battery level and sync settings. New photos that you take will be privately synced as you take them. In your syncing settings, you can choose to sync over Wi-Fi and your cellular network, sync or over Wi-Fi only, or turn syncing off entirely. You can also choose to sync all photos in your camera roll over Wi-Fi and see how much storage space you have available.

You can select an option so that photos are only synced when you are on WiFi.  When you are on a cellular network, Facebook will sync photos at a smaller size.  On a WiFi connection, Facebook will sync larger versions of the photos.  The app will not sync photos when your battery is low.


Leave a Comment