Flickr iOS App Gets Updated With Tagging and Fast Uploads

Yahoo! has updated the Flickr app with several new features as part of version 2.10.803 earlier this week.  The app lets you mention friends in titles, descriptions, or comments from within the app.  You just have to type “@” and then select the name of the friend.  Once a tagged photo is posted, that person will be notified abou the photo.  The app also lets you download your own photos and add it to the iPhone camera roll.  You just need to choose a picture, tap the share icon, and then click on “Save Photo.”  Flickr has also improved the upload speed from within the app.

“We did some magic to optimize uploads, but also start uploading in the background while you think about the photo’s title or where you want to share it to,” said Flickr in a blog post.  “You basically get the best of both worlds: High resolution uploads that will make sure that you can enjoy your photos in great quality in the future, plus fast uploads in the background, so that you don’t have to wait.”

You can download the Flickr app from iTunes.

This article was written by Amit Chowdhry. You can follow me at @amitchowdhry or on Google+ at
Leave a Comment