to collect sales tax in Indiana, Nevada, and Tennessee

Posted Jan 1, 2014 consumers in Indiana, Nevada, and Tennessee will now have to pay sales tax on purchases. agreed to begin sales taxes in the three states starting in 2014.


Now collects taxes in 19 states. The 19 states have a combined population of around 180 million. The taxes are expected to generate over $50 million per year altogether. agreed to collect taxes in several states as the company opens more warehouses.

Amazon used to fight against collecting sales taxes in most states since that is what gives them an advantage over retail stores. Amazon is opening two warehouses in Tennessee.

[Source: WSJ]