Curiosity Rover Gets Nominated As TIME “Person of the Year”

Posted Nov 27, 2012

Every year TIME Magazine names a “person of the year.”  The Person of the Year is an annual issue where Time features and profiles a person, group, idea, or object that “has done the most to influence the events of the year.”  Below are the last 12 people that were nominated:

2011 – The Protestor – Representing the global protest movements in the Arab Spring, Tea Party, Occupy Movement, etc.
2010 – Mark Zuckerberg
2009 – Ben Bernanke
2008 – Barack Obama
2007 – Vladamir Putin
2006 – You – The individual content creators on the Internet
2005 – The Good Samaritans – Bono, Bill Gates, Melinda Gates
2004 – George W. Bush
2003 – The American Soldier
2002 – The Whistleblowers – Cynthia Cooper (WorldCom), Coleen Rowley (FBI), and Sherron Watkins (Enron)
2001 – Rudolph Giuliani
2000 – George W. Bush

The Curiosity Rover has traveled 352 million miles and celebrated it’s first month on Monday.  The Curiosity Rover was flew in a Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft and it left for Mars on November 26, 2011.  On August 5th, the Curiosity Rover had to land.  This was known as the “seven minutes of terror.”

Curiosity has provided NASA with over 23,000 raw images and has driven 1,696 feet.  It has delivered us with a lot of information about Mars.  Curiosity celebrated it’s birthday at a location known as Point Lake.  The rover team is expected to use the rover’s rock-sampling drill for the first time.

Another machine that was nominated as the TIME “Person of the Year” is the Higgs Boson Particle.