Higgs Boson Scientists Receive Nobel Prize In Physics

Posted Oct 9, 2013

François Englert (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgien) (pictured above)  and Peter Higgs (University of Edinburgh, UK) are two scientists that have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics this year based on the theory of how particles acquire mass.

The two scientists independently proposed the theory back in 1964.  The idea was that all mass originates from a special particle known as the Higgs particle.  This was confirmed by the particle’s discovery at the CERN laboratory in 2012.

“I hope this recognition of fundamental science will help raise awareness of the value of blue-sky research,” said Higgs in a statement.

[Source: BBC / Mashable]