One of the biggest problems with Facebook’s applications is that many people that used them did not know how much data they are allowing to be exploited. As a result Facebook decided to make privacy options simpler and they announced this week that there is now a new pop-up that will show just how much data you are allowing an application to use. The screenshot above is what the pop-up looks like when you are adding the JibJab application.
Every application automatically you add to Facebook automatically has access to your name, profile picture, gender, and networks. “This is information that is publicly available on Facebook to make it easy for your friends to find you, and in this case, to help you get started quickly with applications. You can always control which information you want to keep private through your privacy settings page, and you can remove applications from your application settings page at any time. You can also control which information your friends can share with the applications they use,” said Facebook CTO Bret Taylor.