Facebook announced last year that they were removing an old setting called ?Who can look up your Timeline by name?? The feature was removed from users that were not using it. The small percentage of users that have the feature will see reminders about it being removed in the next few weeks.
There was a setting called “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” This controlled whether people would see your name as they typed it into the Facebook search bar. This setting was created when Facebook was a simple director of profiles and was very limited. It did not prevent people from navigating to your Timeline by clicking your name in a story in News Feeds or from a mutual friend’s Timeline.
This setting made some people believe that Facebook’s search feature felt broken at times. This is why Facebook is removing the feature.
“To quickly control who can find posts you shared in the past, visit the privacy settings page. With one click, you can limit the audience of posts you?ve shared in the past. This means any posts that were previously shared with Friends of Friends or Public will now be shared just to Friends,” said Facebook in a blog post.