On Friday, Google announced that they were going to use the face from users for reviews, recommendations, and endorsements in ads starting November 11th.
“We want to give you ? and your friends and connections ? the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1?d. This only happens when you take an action (things like +1?ing, commenting or following) ? and the only people who see it are the people you?ve chosen to share that content with,” said Google in a statement.
Google is letting users opt out through your Google+ profile. Users that are under 18 won’t have their actions or information shared through ads at all. If you opt out, you will see a message that says “your friends will be less likely to benefit from your recommendations.”
You can opt out by clicking on this link. Log in with your Google credentials and uncheck the checkbox unless it is already unchecked. Then hit save.