How To Merge Fortnite Accounts

By Amit Chowdhry ● February 14, 2019

Recently Epic added the ability to merge your accounts if you have separate logins on the Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and the Nintendo Switch. And you can move V-Bucks, skins, and other items from the secondary account to your primary account. After the move is done, then the secondary account will be disabled. You can also set up two-factor authentication on the primary account.

To play Fortnite on the PlayStation 4 as of last year, it required a separate Epic account even if you had another Epic account on another console. But you could not transfer money or game progress to the other account. In September 2018, Sony added Fortnite to cross-platform play so new players did not have to deal with this issue.

So if you started playing Fortnite before that, then you may be wondering if there is a way to merge the accounts. The answer is yes.

To do so, first sign into the account you want to keep (known as the primary account). By merging the two accounts, you will be transferring the V-Bucks and items into a single linkedin primary account.


Photo Credit: Epic

The primary account can be used on any platform since all the versions of Fortnite supports cross-platform. But you will only be able to merge accounts that are linked to console networks such as the PS4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch that you used at least once before September 28, 2018.

It’s also worth mentioning that you cannot merge banned and suspended accounts. And it takes about two weeks for in-game items and V-Bucks to transfer from the secondary account to the primary account.

According to Lifehacker, you cannot transfer certain things to a new account such as Battle Pass, progress in “Save the World” and “Creative Islands” and the maps that were made in creative mode. So if you have a Battle Pass active or maps you want to keep on one platform, then you may want to consider using that one as the primary account.

Epic was originally planning to add the ability to merge accounts in November, but the feature got delayed to early 2019. The reason for the delay was “ongoing technical concerns.”